[TESTED] Totally Clueless

Those Mermaids’ are at it again, this time with the M4M Clueless Collection. As we all know, the 90’s are making a revival and where better to start than with the girls of Clueless paired with some Mermaid pattern inspiration? Up first, the Amber sweater vest.

Now, I’m really not a sweater vest person, but in the spirit of trying things I don’t think I like, I signed up. I was able to pretest and full test this sweater and while they won’t be weekly wears for me, I do think I’ll wear them. I made the View A crop during pretest, which I paired both with a Mama Catherine and on it’s own as a crop top. The fabric was a 1 yard cut from a Shades of Grey mystery box at Sincerely Rylee, it feels like an interlock so it’s a little more stable than an actual sweater knit.

For full testing, I was assigned to do View B (the natural waist). This entire pattern comes together so quickly, and since it’s all bands there’s no hemming! It cuts out super quick and I think I had it completely sewn in 15 minutes. This version I used some leftover cable knit from testing the men’s Go To Jackets last March, which was perfect because the vest takes so little fabric and the cable knit looks great.

I was also chosen to test the girls Cher skirt, which is a simple woven, 1/4 circle skirt with options for either a side invisible zip or a front button placket. I was assigned to make Miss Sass a side zip, and decided since Halloween was coming up soon, she could use some fun clothes. I found this bats print at Joanns, and once she approved it, we got started. The skirt really does come together easily, but since it’s woven you need to really pay attention to your size and the final measurements – you may need to customize it a little with a larger or smaller seam allowance. The girls version comes in one length, but the womens comes in knee length, mini and micro-mini.

I haven’t tested the rest of the collection, but we’ve seen peeks in the test groups from people taking pictures with other pieces paired, so keep your eyes out for matching pieces on some of the others!

See you next time, until then – happy sewing!

Pattern : M4M Womens Amber | M4M Cher
Fabric : Sincerely Rylee | Joann Pucker Knit (ivory)
Other Patterns Releasing in the Collection:
Womens Cher | Unisex Amber & Elton
Womens Dionne | Girls Dionne

2 comments

Leave a comment